Six Black candidates elected in Ontario

Thursday 7 June

The tsunami that marked the election of the Conservative Party, led by political maverick, Doug Ford, also saw the election of six Black candidates at the June 7 Ontario provincial election – two from the Liberal Party and four NDP.  Altogether there were nineteen Black candidates: one from the Progressive Conservatives, six Liberal and twelve from the National Democratic Party (NDP).

Below is the list of  successful candidates: 

Michael Coteau (Liberal) was re-elected in Don Valley East by 1027 votes

Michael Coteau, 


Jill Andrew (NDP)  won in Toronto-St. Paul by 1348 votes

Jill Andrew


Kevin Yarde (NDP) won in Brampton North by 487 votes

Kevin Yarde - Brampton North



Laura Mae Lindo (NDP)  won in Kitchener Centre by 7442 votes

Laura Mae Lindo

Laura Mae Lindo


Faisal Hassan (NDP) won in York-South Weston by 1158 votes

Faisal Hassan

Faisal Hassan


Mitzie Hunter (Liberal )  was re-elected in Scarborough-Guildwood, by 81 votes.

Mitzie Hunter

Mitzie Hunter


The unsuccessful candidates were:

Dionne Duncan (Conservatives) Hamilton Centre who lost to NDP leader Andrea Howarth by a wide margin.

Former Ontario Black History Society President Nikki Clarke (NDP) who ran a close second in Mississauga-Malton.

Marjorie Knight (NDP) who took second place in Cambridge.

Mahamud Amin (NDP) who came a distant second in Etobicoke North  to Conservative leader Doug Ford.

Fitzroy Vanderpool (NDP) who came second in Kitchener South-Hespeler.

Felicia Samuel (NDP) Scarborough-Rouge Park

Monique Hughes NDP) Ajax

Dwayne Morgan (NDP) Scarborough North

Melissa Williams (NDP Newmarket-Aurora

Makini Smith (Liberal) Oshawa

Remy Boulbol (Liberal) Windsor-Tecumesh

Leisha Washington (Liberal) who came third in Whitby

Incumbent Granville Anderson (Liberal) who lost his seat, placing third place.







Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *